Blender Animation -> Panda3D

Hi all,

I have been trying to export an animated character from Blender to Panda3d for a full week now…
I tried about all conversions I could think off (Yabee -> egg, Collada, .x format, …).

I’m using blender 2.62.

I’ve tried several character models found online (blendswap.com). If the characters didn’t have an armature already, I added one.

Exporting with Yabee to .egg or exporting to Collada almost always fails, resulting in errors in the export scripts. Exporting to .x doesn’t keep the armature animation, it only seems to export (or import in panda3d) global translations of the model.

So… I was wondering; how do most people export their animations? I’m rather new to both Blender and Panda3d so I suppose I’m doing something wrong as I can’t believe professional game developers don’t have a robust pipeline to import their animations into a gaming engine?

Kind regards,
Barno

Here are my own rules for animations and exporting to panda:

• If you have a rigged model, make sure the bones are bound to vertex groups or through weight painting.
  • Disable envelopes.
  • Animate through keyframes only.
  • Use one armature per object and one object per armature. (an object can contain multiple meshes.)
  • Connect the object with the armature through an armature modifier (and only that!).
  • Define actions if you have multiple independent animations. If the object is simple and animates linearly, you can use YABEE’s animation baking. Just define the right frames for that when exporting.
  • Make sure you’ve selected everything (armature included) before clicking on the panda export entry in the menu.
  • Always export animations to separate files! (This makes many things easier.)
  • Test your animations with pview:
pview -cl model.egg -a model_animation.egg

In pview press “l” (small L) to enable shading, so that you actually see something.

I hope this helps a bit.

Thanks a lot. Disabling envelopes helped a lot :slight_smile: