Server Role

I’ve been going about making a small, multiplayer game for about a few weeks now. Before then, I was using a Java server and just connecting my client up with the socket module. But recently I’ve been having a few questions about the built in server-client architecture P3d has.

• who(client or server) handles the zones, worlds, characters etc… in most multiplayer games

• is it possible for the actual server to hold the world and have all the clients just connect to that same world(they’re actually viewing the same thing)? I before thought the clients held everything and just sent their current state and location and drew each other to the screen.

• are there any good examples of a server/client in P3d? If so, are there any that implement the above?

I’m new to game dev, but not new to programming in general. Any answers are appreciated.

I don’t know if there is an unique answer to what you wish.

I develop recently such architecture for a multiplayer game using panda.
From my observation of existing AAA games, I decide to use this architecture:

One server (program) dedicated to be :
– server on which users connect
– server redirects to the right zone server
– server handles world transaction, chat, …

One server (program) to handle/manage a zone. I will launch X times this program on different physics server to handle my x zones.
– server manage physics
– server broadcast all NPC and players movements and decision

Client will connect a first time to world server to have information to connect to the right zone server.
When you change of zone, you disconnect (close the socket) from the zone server, and you ask to world server the information to connect to the new zone server (IP + port), and so on.

I choose to communicate with TCP communication on world server, because light messages, and relevant ones.