Why is maze rendering so slowly?

I am new to Panda3d. For a first test app I am building a simple 3D maze generator.

Originally, I was using the “visual” module, until I figured out that it sucks. The maze was running unbelievably slow… taking several seconds to render a single frame every time the “camera” moved. So, I switched to Panda3d… since Panda is a much higher-level tool, I thought it would render my maze algorithm more efficiently.

But, although Panda renders it significantly faster than visual, it is still quite slow. It takes up to ten seconds after launching the app before it will render the whole maze. I’m not sure if my code is inefficient, or if I’m not doing something I should be with Panda… Seeing all the amazing things Panda can do, though, I highly doubt it should be running this slow. Its got to be a problem in my code.

Note-- I did have to increase the recursion limit to 10,000 instead of the default, but that shouldn’t make it run as slow as it is, right?

Source at:
pastebin.com/LS2cCdSi

Hoping that someone can point me in the right direction here.

I only skimmed your code, so my apologies if I’m missing something.

However, based on that skim I wonder whether the problem might not be that you’re creating too many geoms (not too many polygons, please note, but rather too many separate geometry objects): as I understand it, modern graphics cards tend to be very good at pushing through a great number of polygons, but not good at handling a great number of objects.

You might want to consider using one of the “flatten” methods; depending on the size and complexity of your maze, it might be a good idea to not flatten the maze into a single geom, but rather a small number of geoms (to allow for things like culling to still take place).

A little more information on flattening should be available here.

Thanks so much for the response. I just read through the information on ‘flattening’…