UI Options

Hi everyone,

I’m new to the forum but I’ve been playing around with Panda3d for a few months now.

I’ve hit a little snag when it comes to UI. DirectGUI doesn’t look like it’s going to meet my needs, but the other available options either seem to be difficult to get working or lacking in documentation (or both).

Right now I’m working on a map editor and in need of a UI option to deal with loading and saving, and also with the choice of textures for brushes and other options like that.
I’ve found this: [Problem with DirectScrolledList in a FileDialog class)
Which kind of works for the saving and loading and I’m sure I could make it do what I want with a bit of effort, but I can’t even figure out how to move and resize the DirectGUI widgets properly and I know it doesn’t really have what I will need for my end project.

What I’m working on is a RTS / Grand Strategy type game. So when I get to the actual game I know I’m going to need all kinds of complicated UI; lists, scroll bars, drop down selections, sliders. Pretty much everything you can think of. CEGUI or rocket seem like good options, but rocket is lacking in documentation (that I could find anyway) and seems to not be updated any more. CEGUI seems great, but a little complicated and while it does integrate with Panda3d that’s not ready or fully documented yet (not that I can see).

So I’m either looking for some info on CEGUI; is it going to do what I need before I put some time into figuring it out? ; is there a version of Panda3d I can download that comes set up to use it? ; is there a good tutorial that shows me what I need to know to use CEGUI with Panda3d?
Or for another solution that can do what I need.

Thanks in advance for any help. I’ve been banging my head against a wall for a few days trying to find something that works.