Needs some advices with bullet world

Hi, everyone! I’m new to Panda3D, I was trying to solve this myself, there are many similar topics on this in the forums, but after spending 5 hours with no result, I decided to create this thread.

I need to do simple task. I have level with static geometry, and camera moving around this level. I need to ‘map’ the level, i.e. sent raycast in all directions from the camera, and get collision distances from camera to the surface, though mapping level this way.

I thought that most effcicient way to do this is to use Bullet World physics, though I’ll have so sent lots of rays in all directions, I think there is no ‘SphereOverlap’ or something like that in Panda3D.

So I created test scene inside 3Ds Max, and exported it, keeping this inside egg file:

<Collide> Floor_Big_004 { Polyset keep descend }

Then coded this:

from direct.showbase.ShowBase import ShowBase
from FirstPersonCamera import FirstPersonCamera
from panda3d.core import *
#loadPrcFileData("", "want-directtools #t")
#loadPrcFileData("", "want-tk #t")
from panda3d.bullet import BulletWorld
class Application(ShowBase):

def __init__(self):

ShowBase.__init__(self)
        self.setupCD()
        base.setBackgroundColor(1, 1, 1)
        base.disableMouse()

self.floor = loader.loadModel("Floor_Big_02.egg")
        self.floor.reparentTo(render)
        self.floor.setPos(0, 0, 0)
        self.floor.setScale(0.1, 0.1, 0.1) 

self.geomnodes = self.floor.findAllMatches('**/+GeomNode')
        self.gn = self.geomnodes.getPath(0).node   
        self.geom = self.gn.getGeom(0)  
        self.mesh = BulletTriangleMesh()   
        self.mesh.addGeom(self.geom)   
        self.shape = BulletTriangleMeshShape(self.mesh, dynamic=False)

self.cam.setPos(10, -10, 5)
        self.mouseLook = FirstPersonCamera(self, self.cam, self.render)

def setupCD(self):
        taskMgr.add(self.update, 'update')  
        self.world = BulletWorld()
        self.world.setGravity(Vec3(0, 0, -9.81))