Can I add a section to the manual?

This ties in with the thread about testing the runtime. I moved it out of that thread into this post actually.

I’m totally new to anything like debugging a runtime vs a SDK or even contributing more than an answer to a community project. So, I have an idea to help others based on my current situation. Can I add a section to the manual, “Getting Started with Contributions,” once I get this runtime up and test my small code base? I think it could look something like so:

Getting Started with Contributions

Contributing to the Manual
Contributing Code
Debugging the SDK
Debugging the Runtime

(I bolded the ones I think I’d cover while testing this. The others I think would be handy in the future.)

Maybe “Debugging the SDK” assumes some aggressive test/debugging phase prior to a new major release with a call to action such as this thread. I’m sure it unfolds differently than the runtime anyways, since many bugs are hammered out before anything like this thread occurs (this thread being a call to test the runtime after a major release).

For testing this currently I have:

1. download packp3d<version#>.p3d’ from runtime.panda3d.org/ where <version#> is the version of the Panda runtime you are testing
  2. run ‘panda3d packp3d<version#>.p3d’ on the command line

Is there anything before step 1? I already have the SDK installed, in case that matters.

Yeah, I’d love for there to be a section in the manual on contributing to Panda3D. I’ve been meaning to start it, but have not had the time.

These sound like good topics to cover. “Contributing Code” could contain some basic instructions on how to check out the source from git, finding ones way around the source code, using git to generate patches, point to coding style recommendations, and so on. “Debugging the SDK” could contain instructions on how to run the SDK inside a debugger like gdb or Microsoft Visual C++.