Problem with compiling p3d, concerns about CPU usage

I just started learning to use Panda3D, after some time with JME3 (I didn’t want to use Java anymore).

After following the tutorial in the manual, I noticed while running the .py file that a simple panda walking in a small scenery was using about half my CPU. Is that normal ?

I wanted to check if I had this problem with the samples… The sample “naith_alpha1b.p3d” took 70% of my CPU with the most simple level ! Same with the featured ones like Fireflies… Up to 80%.

I tried to convert a .py file I made following the tutorial, with the instructions on panda3d.org/manual/index.php/Using_packp3d
and I got this error :
PackageINfo(warning): after uncompressing, panda3d.cmu_1.9.win_i386.mf still incorrect
Traceback :
File “C:\buildslave\rtdist-windows-i386\build\built\direct\p3d\Apprunner.py” line 842, in addPackageInfo
OSError: Couldn’t download panda3d

I am certain that I downloaded and installed both the Panda3d runtime and SDK.

Then I wanted to check if compiling Naith (as it’s already a p3d) would solve that massive CPU usage. I followed this guide :
panda3d.org/manual/index.ph … _installer
and I kept getting :
Sandard Error : Package panda3D cmu1.7 for win_i386 not known on runtime.panda3D.org
Even though it is there : runtime.panda3d.org/panda3d/cmu_1.7/win32/
And I even have files in
C:\Users\UserName\AppData\Local\Panda3D\hosts\runtime.panda3d.org_96a0ec538744def6\panda3d\cmu_1.7 !

What should I do ?

Hi, welcome to Panda3D! :slight_smile:

Panda uses up all your CPU because it will simply run as fast as it can. Any CPU power not used is wasted, after all, and a gamer typically wants to use all the performance at their disposal.