What are quaternions? When/how to use them?

Hi all, I’m a new Panda3D (italian) user, and this is my first post.
I studied some of of linear algebra, vectors, general physics etc. at the university, but I’ve never heard of quaternions.
So, what are and (above all) how and when to use quaternions?
Is there any tutorial/guide?

Thank you very much!
And sorry for the noob question. Is there any FAQ list somewhere?

EDIT: Sorry, my intention was to post in General discussion Forum, I don’t know what appened. Please move this topic in the correct place.

MOD EDIT: Done.

Quaternions are just a mathematical shorthand for doing rotation calculations. Conceptually, they are similar to axis-angle rotations, so you might get more search hits related to that. But unlike pure axis-angle rotations, you can do all kinds of nifty tricks with them, such as spherical linear interpolation. (You want angle C which is halfway between angle A and B? Slerp between A/B at time frame 0.5.) You can also combine them into spline-quads in order to smooth interpolate between multiple rotations.

You can easily do your math in pure Euler angles and never touch Quats, but you better be sure you’re dealing with canonical rotations. (ie: Make sure pitch is always -180,180, bank is -90,90, etc, but even then you can still get gimbal lock if you aren’t careful with how you combine them.) And you can’t easily interpolate them, not without a lot of special-case logic. (For example, rotating from 170 to -170 degrees.)

They’re convenient in that they take 4 numbers to store, versus 3x3 for a rotation matrix.

Panda does everything internally as matrices, so it’s really your call on how you want to manipulate them.