HeightMap png question

Hi,

I’ve been a programmer for over 20 years, but I am brand spankin new to 3d graphics. I have searched for the answer to this on the forum here, but I cannot find an answer, probably due to the number of returns for a heightmap search.

What the heck does a height map contain???

What size should it be?
does each pixel represent a scaled portion of the terrain generated?
Does the color of each pixel represent the scaled height of the terrain?
Does it have to be square?
Where can I find an example of a Panda3D heightmap?

Thanx for your help :slight_smile:

It’s called GeoMipTerrain.

One of forums search results :
discourse.panda3d.org/viewtopic.php?t=7084

Don’t overlook the manual page Geometrical MipMapping.

Your image should be a power of 2 plus one in each dimension, but doesn’t have to be square. It’s a grayscale image whose brightness corresponds to height. If you need more precision you can make it a color image and use R, G, B as the separate bytes of the height, but that’s probably more trouble than it’s worth.

David

thanx David,

Yea, I was doing the tutorial, i shouldn’t speed read :slight_smile: but I got it now, Luminance or a power of 2, and size doesn’t matter (oh I so want to say a bad joke here!)

Got it now :mrgreen:

I’m a little confused by what you say, because “power of 2 plus 1” refers to the size of the image, and this does matter.

A power of two is any number of the series 1, 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128, 256, 512, 1024, …

A “power of two plus 1” is a number of the series 2, 3, 5, 9, 17, 33, 65, 129, 257, 513, 1025, …

Your image must be a power of two plus 1 in each dimension. This means it may be 129 x 129, or 257 x 257, or 129 x 513, or 257 x 1025. It doesn’t have to be square, which means the x and y values don’t have to be the same thing (257 x 1025 is not square, but each dimension is a power of 2 plus 1).

David

Um, actually, its simpler than that;