When a Mac OSX release

I just joined the forum and I am new to Panda3d. I want to use Panda running on Mac OS X. Currently I am using the compiled version that I found on knuddl.net/moin.cgi/InstallPanda3d#..

Does anyone know when there is going to be an official realease for Mac OS X? Also, I have seen some posts on the forum about the possibility of building Panda for OS X from source. Does the sound work if you do it that way?

inoh

the package i have created did follow the instructions from this forum, including some additional fixes that are not (yet) in CVS.

i am currently trying to get FMOD support running on OS X (i won’t be able to add Miles Sound System support, i don’t have a license).

next on the list is an Intel version.

i can’t give an ETA when this is going to be done (hopefully within the next week), as i did hit some problems (as expected) and need to figure out how to fix them.

hope this helps,
kaweh

Thank you so much for your quick reply kaweh!
That’s great news. I hope you will not encounter too many problems with the sound implementation.
I will keep my eyes peeled for the new release. It is lucky we have people like you supporting the OS X community.

Thanks again, best,

inoh

does anyone know if the maya exporter works on osx as yet? I’ve been trying the one that comes with the pc version but keep getting a syntax error when i try to drop the mel file into the maya workspace.

i was using Maya 7, but when i dropped the MEL script into Maya 7, it would always just crash the whole application (a similiar problem as you describe).

i didn’t really bother to find out why, mainly because i have no experience with MEL scripts, my time with Panda3d is (unfortunatly) limited, and i am comfortable with command line tools.