(Solution) FFMPEG under AMD64

I have been playing around with building Panda3d 1.5.2 with FFMPEG enabled under Debian SID AMD64 and some how managed to get it working.

So here’s the errors/steps and my solutions, take everything with a tablespoon of salt, I’m a newbie and I pieced it together mostly from Google.

[color=darkred][size=84]/usr/bin/ld: built/lib/libavutil.a(mem.o): relocation R_X86_64_32 against `a local symbol’ can not be used when making a shared object; recompile with -fPIC
built/lib/libavutil.a: could not read symbols: Bad value[/size]

Apparently this version of FFMPEG needs to be recompiled with -fPIC, now I didn’t have this problem before since I was using the latest SID packages from Debian-Multimedia, but I felt I might as well address it for anyone who doesn’t.

[color=indigo]su (enter root password)
cd /tmp
apt-get build-dep ffmpeg
apt-get source ffmpeg
cd ffmpeg*/

nano Makefile
add -fPIC to the end of CFLAGS and LDFLAGS.
(CTRL+O to save, CTRL+X to quit)

[color=indigo]dpkg-buildpackage
cd …
dpkg -i libavcodec-dev*.deb libavformat-dev*.deb libavutil-dev*.deb

Since APT happily upgrades these packages losing the changes you made, you need to temporarily put them on hold. I use wajig for sheer ease, which is available through apt-get like usual.

[color=indigo]wajig hold libavcodec-dev libavformat-dev libavutil-dev
In the future you’ll need, wajig list-hold, wajig unhold

[color=darkred][size=84]g++ -o built/bin/apply_patch -Lbuilt/lib -L/usr/X11R6/lib built/tmp/apply_patch_apply_patch.o -lpanda -lpandaexpress -lp3dtool -lp3dtoolconfig -lp3pystub -lz -lssl -lpthread -ldl
built/lib/libpanda.so: undefined reference to av_close_input_file(AVFormatContext*)' built/lib/libpanda.so: undefined reference toregister_protocol(URLProtocol*)’
built/lib/libpanda.so: undefined reference to avcodec_open(AVCodecContext*, AVCodec*)' built/lib/libpanda.so: undefined reference toav_register_all()’