I cannot access python and panda via command line.

I have been using python and panda3d for about six months and i have been able to work with panda 3d quite smoothly.I had reformated my computer 2 days ago.I had reinstalled python and panda3d on my computer plus all the other files i originally had on.
When i now try to run an application that i had made in panda3d
with this command

ppython game.py

or even a simple python application with this command

python simple.py

i get this error

" ‘Python’ is not recognized as an internal or external command,operable program or batch file "

I never had this probelm before and only seemed to happened right after i reformated the computer,i had installed python and panda3d as i had done before so i really dont know what the problem could be

david moussa

Your PATH isn’t set right, the system cannot find python.
(Are you on Win or Lin? I assume you are on Windows.)
There are two ways to solve this:

1. Call python using this command instead:
    c:\panda3d-1.3.2\python\ppython.exe yourfile.py
  2. Add python to your path. I don’t know how to do that exactly, someone else can explain that better than me. I believe I saw a document at this website about that lately, but I’m not sure. On Linux you would do something like “export PATH=$PATH:/usr/local/panda3d/bin” or so. But on Windows, this is different in different versions. What version are you using? Windows XP? 2000?

Im using windows XP home edition

I tried typing in the command you suggested and it still did not work

Did you install Panda at the default location ?

What pro-rsoft meant was ‘path_to_panda\python\ppython.exe path_to_your_file\yourfile.exe’

To set the PATH in Windows XP:

From the desktop, right click My Computer and click properties.

In the System Properties window, click on the Advanced tab.

In the Advanced section, click the Environment Variables button.