Hey im new to Panda3d!

Hi guys, i just found out Panda3d, and Im loving it so far. I really want to make some sort of game in 3d, maybe a fps, maybe something else. My question is, what tools are good to help me make a level, like a bsp file, and I also need a good, free, easy modeller that will let me get something in my game, with as little hassle as possible.

THis is a problem because of the limited supported types of files.

I see GTKRadiant(a level maker), but this exports to BSP, and I don’t know if there are any programs that can convert bsp to egg.

i also need a good free modeller. what do you suggest a good modeller is that can get a model into my game w/o hassle?

So, i need a level editor and a modeller, and i’ll be golden.

Thanks!

a bunch of modellers work they all have exporters
gmax, 3dsmax, blender, etc…
i think gtk would work if you could export to a modeller

Toby,

Use blender it has excellent egg exporter. There is no BSP 2 egg tools but there is online tools to convert BSP to format panda can read. I remember seeing a BSP to obj converter I made obj2egg if you want to take a look https://discourse.panda3d.org/viewtopic.php?t=3378&highlight=obj2egg - and i can modify if it does not work.

gmax is no longer available and its only going to export to the given game its made for…

just-use-blender

• did I say that *

cheers
nl
:wink:

When i export things to .egg with Blender, the things turn out white. noooooooo =(.

1. How do I export this with the textures intact

2. How does the obj2egg thing work? I’m getting slightly confused with it. Does it leave textures intact?

Thanks!

you can still get it at the gmax site, turbosquid. and doesnt panda have a gmax exporter?

white textures are either caused by wrong-asigned textures in blender, wrong texture-path-names /miss-naming in the egg file or truely missing files.