Facing Waypoint Direction

I want my model to face in the direction of the waypoint during the interval. Obviously this

self.Mod1HprIv = self.Mod1.hprInterval(5, Point3(Vec3(self.waypoint.getPos()),0,0))

…is not the way to do it, because I keep getting an error:

TypeError: a float is required

I have seen dir used before, but I am not getting it to come together.
What’s the correct way to get my character face the direction of the waypoint? Thanks

I think it explains how to do a float and why it’s used in the Roaming Ralph sample.

As for having your character face the waypoint (sorry, no clue what you’re reffering to) use the lookAt method.

I know how to do it, but I’m not very good at explaining things in python yet, so I will leave it to: https://discourse.panda3d.org/viewtopic.php?t=3830

The character is always “looking at” that crosshair. It’s the first one I can remember, but there are others as well if you search the forums.

Maybe there are other methods, and maybe this isn’t what you’re asking, so I apologize. I try to help as best I can :smiley:.

I think the problem is here:

You try to create a new Point3 instance, with these arguments:

Point3( vector3, float, float )

There is no matching constructor for this (and I wouldn’t know what the resulting point should be). The “closest” constructor is this one, and this is probably why you get the error message “a float is required”:

Point3( float, float, float )

Other valid constructors are:

Point3( float )
Point3( vector3 )

enn0x

Well, I understand what you are saying, but I don’t understand what to do.
The x coordinate part of Point3 is wrong. I just need to know what to put here for the object’s location.

Why is the X coordinate wrong? Anyway you can get and set positions piecewise. (i.e. [color=darkred]myNodePath.getX(); [color=darkred]myNodePath.setX(x)) This is all explained in the manual under the scene graph section.

I already used myNodePath.getX().