External data files in a scripting language

I’m new to Python, and have encountered a point on which I’m a little uncertain.

In C++, I would probably want my game to be “data-driven”, and employ external data files which are interpreted by the program.

For example, I’m looking at the moment at creating a weapon class. If I were doing this in C++, I would probably make a fairly general weapon class (or a small set of classes), then produce specific weapons (with varying damage values, appearances, reload/cooldown times, etc.) by loading values from an external file.

Similarly, if I were to allow special “on-event” behaviour for enemies, I might include it in an external file, which is then read in and interpreted by the program.

However, Python is already a scripting language.

So, am I correct then in thinking that I should just directly create my weapon templates or event scripts in a Python file, as Python objects from the start, without some sort of file loading and interpretation? That seems logical, although it raises my C+±born “hard-coding” red flag. ^^;;

yes that is logical. I code all my configurations in python. Also i try to separate python configuration files and python engine files.

Aah, good, thank you. I think that I will handle things that way, then. :slight_smile:

It’s usually convenient to handle storage and behavior rules in the same module, when you are making a game. I suggest you use a free rule-based system like PyCLIPS and store your data with in pyclips data files.

Don’t get scared with it’s strange syntax. PyCLIPS is really the best solution for game data and handling game behaviors. You can have millions of rules and it will test all those rules for you almost at fixed time. The algorithm used to optimize this is a variant of the RETE algorithm.
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rete_algorithm
It’s not an easy to grasp think but the important thing is that it works.

Hmm… It’s an expert system toolkit, am I correct?