Docs for compiling Panda 1.8?

I’m new to Panda3D. I am converting our OSX C++ work from another engine to Panda, and needed either the ability to do our development in XCode (so I can use my functional library from Bullet Physics) or do command line compiles with Panda Bullet included. I am considering moving to Python so the OSX-Bullet connection may be necessary anyway. Since this was only available in the development version. I decided to download and build at the command line. I’m not that fond of XCode anyway and saw no documentation on how to build Panda from source with XCode. In fact, all I’ve been successful at in building my demo code, is to use the 1.7.2 from command line, my XCode attempts were unsuccessful. 1.8 seems necessary and working at the command line is fine with me.

I did the cvs to pull the source (Part 1 according the docs I found) from sourceforge. The INSTALL-MK mentioned to get the Third-Party-Programs and samples from the panda site, but it didn’t say where to find them, and I was unable to. I attempted a makepanda/makepanda.py --everything --verbose based on a post I found here. This got me to 49% but then stopped on an error which another post had some general suggestions (removal of some compile flags and adding others for architecture), but didn’t say where to remove these flags. I found no makefile and didn’t think altering dtools directory source was something you would do to change the compile options.

What I’m wondering is if there is any documentation that describes this process, otherwise it appears I am just floundering and guessing. Hopefully there is also a reference to where things are, so I can get samples (for 1.8) and third party programs.