Panda3D specifically for enthought canopy

Hello everyone,

I am a python newbie here, and I want to know how can i download, install Panda3D-1.8.1, and then use Enthought as the environment for python coding. I have downloaded Panda3D-1.8.1, but when I try to import modules in Enthought, I get the “no module name ______ exists” error. Can I get some help please as to where I should save the Panda3D-1.8.1 folder so that Enthought can see it. I’ve tried putting the Panda3D folder in the site-packages folder but Enthought still can’t read it.

Also, if you could be as specific/transparent as possible, so that any newbie could understand,I would appreciate it alot.

Thank you

What operating system are you using? Windows, Mac, Linux?

I am using a 64 bit windows 8.1 operating system

Just installed it. Bad news. Enthought canopy wont work with panda3d. It uses python virtual environments which panda3d is unable to work with (yet). I recommend using another IDE or editor. I personally use Pycharm community edition, others use pydev with eclipse, others use text editors like Sublime Text or Notepad*

If there is specific functionality you are looking for with canopy I can try and help you find a good replacement.

*Please don’t actually use notepad. It will only cause you pain.

I am currently using Enthought canopy for python programming,but I can switch if necessary. Does Panda3D work with Python IDLE?

Why is this? What’s preventing Panda3D from working with virtualenv?

rdb: I’m going based off of the reports of others in irc. If you would like I can test it.

Pan: On windows the panda3d sdk installs with its own python installation. I could not find a way to point canopy to a specific python install. You could try it creating a new canopy project, install panda3d to that virtual environment (a virt environment is a self contained python installation), and hope for the best.