Installing Panda3D on a Mac with Python 3.4?

I have a Mac with Yosemite (10.10) which has the default Python 2.7 install that comes with OSX, and I’ve also installed Python 3.4 using the recommended steps published at python.org (docs.python.org/3/using/mac.html). This allows me to use Python 3.4 when appropriate.

I’m still a bit new to python and the schism between 2./3., but wherever possible I’d prefer to use the most modern elements of python (3.) and so I’m trying to run Panda3D in a 3. version.

After a false start installing the 1.8 version and it not working in either 2.* or 3., I followed the suggestions in the forums to instead install the 1.9 Panda3D version, and now it works using Python 2., but I’d like it to also work with the Python 3.* version… what do I need to do?

I had the impression from the guides that the install would prompt me and ask which version I wanted to install for, but perhaps that is only on Windows, and not Mac…?

Would it be as simple as creating a .pth file with the appropriate entries? Is there a version of that somewhere with the appropriate entries already created?

You cannot use 1.8 or 1.9 with Python 3.4. The only version of Panda3D that will work with Python 3 is the latest master branch of Panda3D (labelled 1.10).

Go to GitHub to grab the latest version of the source code:
github.com/panda3d/panda3d
You must be sure to run makepanda with python3.4 to ensure that you are building Panda against Python 3.4. Also, makepanda by default assumes that you want to build for Apple’s copy of Python, so you may have to edit makepanda/makepandacore.py and change this line in the SdkLocatePython function:

elif GetTarget() == 'darwin':

to this:

elif False:

You’re the first person to ask for Python 3 support on Mac OS X, so the process is a little untested. Sorry about that. Maybe we’ll have development builds for Python 3 on Mac available on the download page soon.