Error Importing Panda3D in OS X

I’m using OS X El Capitan and have been unable to setup panda3D on my Macbook Pro.

Running this line from the examples, or the hello world tutorial:

from direct.showbase.ShowBase import ShowBase

Makes python 2.7.10 quit unexpectedly, and crashes.

My Python path contains ‘/Developer/Panda3D’, and I have tried adding ‘/Developer/Panda3D/bin’ to it as well to see if that helps, but it did not.

I started playing around with it to try and trace back the error, and I found that these commands do not cause errors:

>>> from direct import showbase
>>> import panda3d
>>> from panda3d import *

These commands cause python to crash

>>> from direct.showbase import ShowBase
>>> from direct.showbase.ShowBase import *
>>> from panda3d import core
>>> from panda3d import physics
>>> from panda3d import direct

Importing something that clearly does not exist however, such as when I tried:

from panda3d import fnajkpng

Does not make it crash like that, just prints the error, so it appears to be finding the files, but failing to use them.

So it seems to crash whenever it tries to import anything from ‘Panda3D/panda3d’. The files in there are all modules with a .so extension that I am unfamiliar with, but after googling it I saw something someone posted about how you need to import a .so and it isn’t working you can try including something like from the same directory as the .so:

def __bootstrap__():
   global __bootstrap__, __loader__, __file__
   import sys, pkg_resources, imp
   __file__ = pkg_resources.resource_filename(__name__,'direct.so') #or whatever the filename
   __loader__ = None; del __bootstrap__, __loader__
   imp.load_dynamic(__name__,__file__)
__bootstrap__()