treeterrain.py

hi this is an example of multi blending terrain.

and the code:
http://www.freewebtown.com/eiforall/treeterrain/treeterrain.zip

i hope pro-rsoft implements this into the pgmm

Tried to download and run but it’s missing the “Image” module.

yes it requires PIL to run, but because of panda windows install is broken you cant run it unless you know how to monkey with the libs.

can we ever have a “normal python lib install” for windows that uses the python that has been installed 1st? Then using libs such as twisted,PIL,pygame,openAL would be so much more painless!

Treeform, this is very kewl!!!
I’d be happy to implement this into PGMM once I got panda3dprojects done.

Damn sweetly done Treeform!

ImportError: No module named Image
How to get it run on window? Need some instructions in detail. i am a noob.

Image is a module of PIL.

the way to install pil on windows because the panda setup is broken is to install real python, then install pil then copy pil folders to your panda3d’s python install. There is the PIL folder and the pil.pth to copy

thanks treeform, it runs.

for me it worked to install PIL directly (I’m still using Panda 1.3.2)

that’s nice work treeform, I’ll definitely integrate some of your code in my project :smiley:

Is there a bug in the panda installer? Maybe somebody should report this bug.

I don’t know if it’s a bug or a feature…
On Windows the panda installer does not declare the panda installation in the registry database.

Pro:it does not affect any previous python settings /installation /application
also you can also drag and drop panda on a usb stick and it works on any computer…
Con: if you use .exe installer for packages they cannot find the key in registry so they don’t install (no issue with zip or py based install).

Possible solution:
insert the registry key to point toward your panda installation
or
install a python 2.4 standard, install the packages on the 2.4 then copy the packages to panda3D…