Simple collision and updating a list (basic inventory)

I am just learning and my code is unelegant and clunky- but this worked for me and I had a hard time finding examples of how to do this in noob english.

Basically I wanted to take my character and run over a item- have that item vanish then update my inventory. Now in this picture I am just using a texture of a card that will be used later in the game- because I do not have any gem models and plus these were handy.

if look below you will see that the overall mana count increased, and the watergem count increased and that the card or item ralph touched is now gone. This can be applied to any type of item management in the game not just for mana.

here is what I did:

(I used roaming ralph as base)
I switched the enviroment map out for a flat one so my random items didn’t end up in a hill or something. You can change the map out or try to use the existing one- you will just need to adjust the items z-height to match the terrain.

Next I created a small array to create two items: watergem (self.mana[0]) and deathgem(self.mana[1]). BY the way all this code went inside of the

class World(DirectObject):   def __init__(self):
 self.mana=[]
        for xyz in range(2):
            self.mana.append(loader.loadModel("models/plane")) #<<<< change this to your own model- iused a plane (flat card) to just hold a card graphic that I just had laying in my game file.
            myTexture = loader.loadTexture("cards/ac1.jpg")#<<<again change the graphic to your own
            self.mana[xyz].setTexture(myTexture)
            self.mana[xyz].reparentTo(render)
            self.mana[xyz].setPos(self.ralph.getX()+10+random.randint(10, 30) ,self.ralph.getY()+10, 0) #<<< this places the cards somewhat close to ralph.

self.mana[0].setTag('type', "watergem") #<<<here I setup my tags to identify the item later
        self.mana[1].setTag('type', "deathgem")

next I needed a collision: