Panda XML model loader

Wath do you think of the project?

• It’s worth making
  • It will be a waste of time

0 voters

I started learning Panda 3d today and for now it has everything I need.

After passing through a couple of the manual pages I got the idea to create a tool for panda that can load models to the scene graph from an xml file.
My idea is not to directly load the models to the the render node. But to load all the nodes in the xml file and return a single node that can than be reparented to a node in the scene graph.

Examlpe
I could create a xml file that discribes a house. This xml file can than have the house model and some furniture. It will also store light positions. I also want to give it the ability to create instances to for example to use instances of the columns in the house. It will also be able to load animated models.

I would like to let the xml file do as much as posible. I have even some ideas of how I can add some python programming in the files.

I am not sure what would be the best method to open the files. I thought first on a program that would open the file and convert it to a python file. But I think now that it would be better to convert the file on runtime, but I’m new to python and I am not sure how I could do this.

I’m still learning, maybe in a couple of weeks I could have a first version ready.

Here is how I think the XML file could look like.

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<root version="0.1">
	<nodes name="root_node">
		<model pos="10,12,-3" hpr="90,20,0" file="file1.egg" scale="0.25, 0.25 ,0.25" name="firstmodel">
			<model file="file2.egg" name="model3" pos="20,11,0">
				<instance name="instance1" of="model3" pos="3,6,0"></instance>
			</model>
		</model>
		<light pos="10,50,30" color="R, G, B"></light>
		<actor name="Actor_name" pos="0,0,0" hpr="30,0,1" file="file4.egg" scale="0.25, 0.25 ,0.25">
			<animation name="walk" file="actor_walk" ></animation>
			<animation name="run" file="actor_run"></animation>
		</actor>