Snow Leopard

Return to Installation

Snow Leopard

Postby Manne » Mon Aug 31, 2009 10:16 am

Hello,

Anyone got panda to run on Snow Leopard ?

The Cg.Framework setup wont run so i copied it from the package contents, but when i ran the examples in the samples folder i got complaints that the libs where of the wrong architecture.

(Im running SL in 64bits mode, but are having the same problem when i try in 32 bits mode)
Manne
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:04 am

Postby rdb » Mon Aug 31, 2009 10:33 am

Can you please post the exact error messages?
rdb
 
Posts: 9607
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 5:58 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Manne » Mon Aug 31, 2009 11:25 am

sure :)
Here is a dump when running python without any settings (or snow leopard default)

Code: Select all
$ python Tut-Asteroids.py
DirectStart: Starting the game.
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "Tut-Asteroids.py", line 13, in <module>
    import direct.directbase.DirectStart
  File "/Applications/Panda3D/1.6.2/lib/direct/directbase/DirectStart.py", line 3, in <module>
    from direct.showbase import ShowBase
  File "/Applications/Panda3D/1.6.2/lib/direct/showbase/ShowBase.py", line 10, in <module>
    from pandac.PandaModules import *
  File "/Applications/Panda3D/1.6.2/lib/pandac/PandaModules.py", line 1, in <module>
    from libpandaexpressModules import *
  File "/Applications/Panda3D/1.6.2/lib/pandac/libpandaexpressModules.py", line 1, in <module>
    from extension_native_helpers import *
  File "/Applications/Panda3D/1.6.2/lib/pandac/extension_native_helpers.py", line 75, in <module>
    Dtool_PreloadDLL("libpandaexpress")
  File "/Applications/Panda3D/1.6.2/lib/pandac/extension_native_helpers.py", line 73, in Dtool_PreloadDLL
    imp.load_dynamic(module, pathname)
ImportError: /Applications/Panda3D/1.6.2/lib/libpandaexpress.dylib: no appropriate 64-bit architecture (see "man python" for running in 32-bit mode)


This is the dump from when using the export VERSIONER_PYTHON_PREFER_32_BIT=yes.

Code: Select all
python Tut-Asteroids.py
DirectStart: Starting the game.
:display(warning): Unable to load: dlopen(/Applications/Panda3D/1.6.2/lib/libpandagl.dylib, 6): Library not loaded: /usr/X11/lib/libOSMesa.4.dylib
  Referenced from: /Applications/Panda3D/1.6.2/lib/libpandagl.dylib
  Reason: image not found
Known pipe types:
(all display modules loaded.)
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "Tut-Asteroids.py", line 13, in <module>
    import direct.directbase.DirectStart
  File "/Applications/Panda3D/1.6.2/lib/direct/directbase/DirectStart.py", line 4, in <module>
    ShowBase.ShowBase()
  File "/Applications/Panda3D/1.6.2/lib/direct/showbase/ShowBase.py", line 229, in __init__
    self.openDefaultWindow(startDirect = False, props=props)
  File "/Applications/Panda3D/1.6.2/lib/direct/showbase/ShowBase.py", line 692, in openDefaultWindow
    self.openMainWindow(*args, **kw)
  File "/Applications/Panda3D/1.6.2/lib/direct/showbase/ShowBase.py", line 777, in openMainWindow
    self.openWindow(*args, **kw)
  File "/Applications/Panda3D/1.6.2/lib/direct/showbase/ShowBase.py", line 534, in openWindow
    self.makeDefaultPipe()
  File "/Applications/Panda3D/1.6.2/lib/direct/showbase/ShowBase.py", line 467, in makeDefaultPipe
    "No graphics pipe is available!\n"
  File "/Applications/Panda3D/1.6.2/lib/direct/directnotify/Notifier.py", line 130, in error
    raise exception(errorString)
StandardError: No graphics pipe is available!
Your Config.prc file must name at least one valid panda display
library via load-display or aux-display.


Oh, all the enviornment variables seems to be in the right place.

[edit]
when checking the mesalib, this is what i get:

Code: Select all
ls -la /usr/X11/lib/libOSMesa.*
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel  7108224 Jul  6 08:33 /usr/X11/lib/libOSMesa.7.2.dylib
lrwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel       19 Aug 31 16:19 /usr/X11/lib/libOSMesa.7.dylib -> libOSMesa.7.2.dylib
lrwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel       19 Aug 31 16:19 /usr/X11/lib/libOSMesa.dylib -> libOSMesa.7.2.dylib


[/edit]

/Manne
Manne
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:04 am

Postby rdb » Mon Aug 31, 2009 11:40 am

Okay, so apparently Snow Leopard just ships with a newer libOSMesa version. You can probably make a symlink or so.

But libpandagl is not supposed to link to libOSMesa at all. I'll look into removing the libOSMesa dependency on that library.
rdb
 
Posts: 9607
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 5:58 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Manne » Mon Aug 31, 2009 11:43 am

Im trying to build from source now.. have some problems with make trying to link with ppc binaries. Snow Leopard does not support ppc at all so i removed the -arch ppc from makepanda.py. Now i got this error. Any idea ? :)

(I will try to symlink the mesalib)

Code: Select all
............
terrogate_composite.cxx
g++ -o built/bin/interrogate -Lbuilt/lib -L/usr/X11R6/lib built/tmp/interrogate_composite.o built/tmp/libcppParser.a built/lib/libp3dtool.dylib built/lib/libp3dtoolconfig.dylib built/lib/libp3pystub.dylib -lcrypto -lssl -lpthread -ldl -isysroot /Developer/SDKs/MacOSX10.5.sdk -Wl,-syslibroot,/Developer/SDKs/MacOSX10.5.sdk   -arch i386
ld: library not found for -lcrt1.10.6.o
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
Storing dependency cache.
Elapsed Time: 1 min 14 sec
Manne
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:04 am

Postby rdb » Mon Aug 31, 2009 11:51 am

Does 10.6 have an SDK in /Developer/SDKs/ ? If so, you need to edit makepandacore.py and makepanda.py and replace "10.5" by "10.6".
"rm -rf built" before you try again building.

Also, you can try finding the line in makepanda.py that contains "-lOSMesa" and try uncommenting it. I don't know why it's needed.
rdb
 
Posts: 9607
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 5:58 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Manne » Mon Aug 31, 2009 11:52 am

Symlinking worked great.

So, for thoose of you who dont know how. Here is a workaround to get Panda to work on Snow Leopard.

Download the Cg installation (Cg-2.2.0006) from nvidia. Rightclick on the installer and select show package contents. In Contents->Resources->Installer Items there is a file: NVIDIA_Cg.tgz. Copy this to your desktop. Doubleclick on it to unpack.
Now, copy the Cg.Framework in NVIDIA_Cg->Library->Frameworks to /Libraray/Frameworks.

Open a terminal and run this.
sudo ln -s /usr/X11/lib/libOSMesa.7.dylib /usr/X11/lib/libOSMesa.4.dylib

Now Panda should work.
Manne
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:04 am

Postby barbeirovsk » Mon Aug 31, 2009 11:58 am

hey Manne,

There is any difference on Panda running on Snow Leopard? Plz, post a review :)

thanks,
Paulo
barbeirovsk
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 5:36 pm
Location: São Paulo - Brasil

Postby rdb » Mon Aug 31, 2009 11:59 am

Nice job Manne, I'm glad that Panda runs on 10.6.
rdb
 
Posts: 9607
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 5:58 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Manne » Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:01 pm

pro-rsoft wrote:Does 10.6 have an SDK in /Developer/SDKs/ ? If so, you need to edit makepandacore.py and makepanda.py and replace "10.5" by "10.6".
"rm -rf built" before you try again building.

Also, you can try finding the line in makepanda.py that contains "-lOSMesa" and try uncommenting it. I don't know why it's needed.


Tried to build with your new instructions. Result:

Code: Select all
g++ -ftemplate-depth-30 -fPIC -c -o built/tmp/libputil_igate.o -I"/Developer/SDKs/MacOSX10.6.sdk/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Headers" -I"built/tmp" -I"built/include" -Ipanda/src/putil -isysroot /Developer/SDKs/MacOSX10.6.sdk -arch i386   -O2 -DBUILDING_PANDA built/tmp/libputil_igate.cxx
built/tmp/libputil_igate.cxx: In function ‘PyObject* Dtool_BitArray_get_word_394(PyObject*, PyObject*, PyObject*)’:
built/tmp/libputil_igate.cxx:26276: error: conversion from ‘BitMaskNative’ to non-scalar type ‘BitMask<long unsigned int, 64>’ requested
built/tmp/libputil_igate.cxx: In function ‘PyObject* Dtool_BitArray_set_word_395(PyObject*, PyObject*, PyObject*)’:
built/tmp/libputil_igate.cxx:26350: error: no matching function for call to ‘BitArray::set_word(int, BitMask<long unsigned int, 64>&)’
built/include/bitArray.I:396: note: candidates are: void BitArray::set_word(int, BitMaskNative)
built/include/bitMask.I: In member function ‘int BitMask<WType, nbits>::get_num_on_bits() const [with WType = long unsigned int, int nbits = 64]’:
built/tmp/libputil_igate.cxx:21164:   instantiated from here
built/include/bitMask.I:408: error: call of overloaded ‘count_bits_in_word(const long unsigned int&)’ is ambiguous
built/include/pbitops.I:21: note: candidates are: int count_bits_in_word(PN_uint32)
built/include/pbitops.I:30: note:                 int count_bits_in_word(PN_uint64)
built/include/bitMask.I: In member function ‘int BitMask<WType, nbits>::get_num_off_bits() const [with WType = long unsigned int, int nbits = 64]’:
built/tmp/libputil_igate.cxx:21219:   instantiated from here
built/include/bitMask.I:420: error: call of overloaded ‘count_bits_in_word(long unsigned int)’ is ambiguous
built/include/pbitops.I:21: note: candidates are: int count_bits_in_word(PN_uint32)
built/include/pbitops.I:30: note:                 int count_bits_in_word(PN_uint64)
built/include/bitMask.I: In member function ‘int BitMask<WType, nbits>::get_lowest_on_bit() const [with WType = long unsigned int, int nbits = 64]’:
built/tmp/libputil_igate.cxx:21274:   instantiated from here
built/include/bitMask.I:432: error: call of overloaded ‘get_lowest_on_bit(const long unsigned int&)’ is ambiguous
built/include/pbitops.I:102: note: candidates are: int get_lowest_on_bit(PN_uint32)
built/include/pbitops.I:117: note:                 int get_lowest_on_bit(PN_uint64)
built/include/bitMask.I: In member function ‘int BitMask<WType, nbits>::get_highest_on_bit() const [with WType = long unsigned int, int nbits = 64]’:
built/tmp/libputil_igate.cxx:21384:   instantiated from here
built/include/bitMask.I:456: error: call of overloaded ‘get_highest_on_bit(const long unsigned int&)’ is ambiguous
built/include/pbitops.I:132: note: candidates are: int get_highest_on_bit(PN_uint32)
built/include/pbitops.I:143: note:                 int get_highest_on_bit(PN_uint64)
built/include/bitMask.I: In member function ‘int BitMask<WType, nbits>::get_next_higher_different_bit(int) const [with WType = long unsigned int, int nbits = 64]’:
built/tmp/libputil_igate.cxx:21495:   instantiated from here
built/include/bitMask.I:521: error: call of overloaded ‘count_bits_in_word(long unsigned int)’ is ambiguous
built/include/pbitops.I:21: note: candidates are: int count_bits_in_word(PN_uint32)
built/include/pbitops.I:30: note:                 int count_bits_in_word(PN_uint64)
built/include/bitMask.I: In member function ‘void BitMask<WType, nbits>::flood_down_in_place() [with WType = long unsigned int, int nbits = 64]’:
built/tmp/libputil_igate.cxx:23405:   instantiated from here
built/include/bitMask.I:879: error: call of overloaded ‘flood_bits_down(long unsigned int&)’ is ambiguous
built/include/pbitops.I:40: note: candidates are: PN_uint32 flood_bits_down(PN_uint32)
built/include/pbitops.I:55: note:                 PN_uint64 flood_bits_down(PN_uint64)
built/include/bitMask.I: In member function ‘void BitMask<WType, nbits>::flood_up_in_place() [with WType = long unsigned int, int nbits = 64]’:
built/tmp/libputil_igate.cxx:23464:   instantiated from here
built/include/bitMask.I:868: error: call of overloaded ‘flood_bits_up(long unsigned int&)’ is ambiguous
built/include/pbitops.I:71: note: candidates are: PN_uint32 flood_bits_up(PN_uint32)
built/include/pbitops.I:86: note:                 PN_uint64 flood_bits_up(PN_uint64)
built/include/bitMask.I: In member function ‘BitMask<WType, nbits> BitMask<WType, nbits>::flood_bits_down() const [with WType = long unsigned int, int nbits = 64]’:
built/tmp/libputil_igate.cxx:23523:   instantiated from here
built/include/bitMask.I:902: error: call of overloaded ‘flood_bits_down(const long unsigned int&)’ is ambiguous
built/include/pbitops.I:40: note: candidates are: PN_uint32 flood_bits_down(PN_uint32)
built/include/pbitops.I:55: note:                 PN_uint64 flood_bits_down(PN_uint64)
built/include/bitMask.I: In member function ‘BitMask<WType, nbits> BitMask<WType, nbits>::flood_bits_up() const [with WType = long unsigned int, int nbits = 64]’:
built/tmp/libputil_igate.cxx:23584:   instantiated from here
built/include/bitMask.I:890: error: call of overloaded ‘flood_bits_up(const long unsigned int&)’ is ambiguous
built/include/pbitops.I:71: note: candidates are: PN_uint32 flood_bits_up(PN_uint32)
built/include/pbitops.I:86: note:                 PN_uint64 flood_bits_up(PN_uint64)
Storing dependency cache.
Elapsed Time: 3 min 25 sec

make: *** [all] Error 1


Any idea ? :)
Manne
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:04 am

Postby Manne » Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:04 pm

barbeirovsk wrote:hey Manne,

There is any difference on Panda running on Snow Leopard? Plz, post a review :)

thanks,
Paulo


I doubt there will be any noticable change in speed unless the engine itself starts taking advantage of the new stuff in the underlaying os. But who knows ? I dont have anything to test with.
Manne
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:04 am

Postby rdb » Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:10 pm

Eh, can you try making the flag something like "-arch x86_64"?

After this you'll need to make a clean build by deleting "built", sorry.
rdb
 
Posts: 9607
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 5:58 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Manne » Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:19 pm

Here we go again. Some progress :)

Code: Select all
g++ -ftemplate-depth-30 -fPIC -c -o built/tmp/pipeline_composite.o -I"/Developer/SDKs/MacOSX10.6.sdk/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Headers" -I"built/tmp" -I"built/include" -Ipanda/src/pipeline -isysroot /Developer/SDKs/MacOSX10.6.sdk -arch x86_64   -O2 -DBUILDING_PANDA panda/src/pipeline/pipeline_composite.cxx
gcc -fPIC -c -o built/tmp/pipeline_contextSwitch.o -I"/Developer/SDKs/MacOSX10.6.sdk/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Headers" -I"built/tmp" -I"built/include" -Ipanda/src/pipeline -isysroot /Developer/SDKs/MacOSX10.6.sdk -arch x86_64   -O2 -DBUILDING_PANDA panda/src/pipeline/contextSwitch.c
panda/src/pipeline/contextSwitch.c: In function ‘setup_context_1’:
panda/src/pipeline/contextSwitch.c:261: error: ‘CS_JB_SP’ undeclared (first use in this function)
panda/src/pipeline/contextSwitch.c:261: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
panda/src/pipeline/contextSwitch.c:261: error: for each function it appears in.)
Storing dependency cache.
Elapsed Time: 2 min 45 sec

make: *** [all] Error 1
Manne
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:04 am

Postby rdb » Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:46 pm

What version of Panda are you building? I know that it's fixed on latest CVS, but I think a source package of 1.6.1 and above should work too. If it's an outdated CVS version, I highly suggest updating.

You can hack around it by editing panda/src/pipeline/contextSwitch.c and by finding this line:
Code: Select all
#if defined(HAVE_UCONTEXT_H)

and replacing it with something that always evaluates to true.
Code: Select all
#ifndef BLAAAHGR
rdb
 
Posts: 9607
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 5:58 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Manne » Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:54 pm

Im using the official http://www.panda3d.org/download/panda3d ... mac.tar.gz source for os x :)

Ill try the fix you describe.
Manne
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:04 am

Postby Manne » Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:56 pm

Im getting the more errors now. Should i try getting the latest version from cvs ?

Code: Select all
gcc -fPIC -c -o built/tmp/pipeline_contextSwitch.o -I"/Developer/SDKs/MacOSX10.6.sdk/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Headers" -I"built/tmp" -I"built/include" -Ipanda/src/pipeline -isysroot /Developer/SDKs/MacOSX10.6.sdk -arch x86_64   -O2 -DBUILDING_PANDA panda/src/pipeline/contextSwitch.c
panda/src/pipeline/contextSwitch.c: In function ‘init_thread_context’:
panda/src/pipeline/contextSwitch.c:34: error: ‘struct ThreadContext’ has no member named ‘_ucontext’
panda/src/pipeline/contextSwitch.c:36: error: ‘struct ThreadContext’ has no member named ‘_ucontext’
panda/src/pipeline/contextSwitch.c:37: error: ‘struct ThreadContext’ has no member named ‘_ucontext’
panda/src/pipeline/contextSwitch.c:38: error: ‘struct ThreadContext’ has no member named ‘_ucontext’
panda/src/pipeline/contextSwitch.c:39: error: ‘struct ThreadContext’ has no member named ‘_ucontext’
panda/src/pipeline/contextSwitch.c:41: error: ‘struct ThreadContext’ has no member named ‘_ucontext’
panda/src/pipeline/contextSwitch.c: In function ‘save_thread_context’:
panda/src/pipeline/contextSwitch.c:52: error: ‘struct ThreadContext’ has no member named ‘_ucontext’
panda/src/pipeline/contextSwitch.c: In function ‘switch_to_thread_context’:
panda/src/pipeline/contextSwitch.c:74: error: ‘struct ThreadContext’ has no member named ‘_ucontext’
Storing dependency cache.
Elapsed Time: 1 sec

make: *** [all] Error 1
Manne
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:04 am

Postby rdb » Mon Aug 31, 2009 1:26 pm

Er, sorry, you needed to make the same change to contextSwitch.h too.
rdb
 
Posts: 9607
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 5:58 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Manne » Mon Aug 31, 2009 1:33 pm

Hmm.. more trouble..


Code: Select all
g++ -ftemplate-depth-30 -fPIC -c -o built/tmp/pipeline_composite.o -I"/Developer/SDKs/MacOSX10.6.sdk/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Headers" -I"built/tmp" -I"built/include" -Ipanda/src/pipeline -isysroot /Developer/SDKs/MacOSX10.6.sdk -arch x86_64   -O2 -DBUILDING_PANDA panda/src/pipeline/pipeline_composite.cxx
In file included from panda/src/pipeline/contextSwitch.h:38,
                 from panda/src/pipeline/threadSimpleImpl.h:26,
                 from panda/src/pipeline/mutexSimpleImpl.h:24,
                 from panda/src/pipeline/mutexTrueImpl.h:38,
                 from panda/src/pipeline/mutexDebug.h:19,
                 from panda/src/pipeline/pmutex.h:19,
                 from panda/src/pipeline/conditionVarDebug.h:19,
                 from panda/src/pipeline/conditionVar.h:19,
                 from panda/src/pipeline/conditionVar.cxx:15,
                 from panda/src/pipeline/pipeline_composite1.cxx:1,
                 from panda/src/pipeline/pipeline_composite.cxx:1:
/Developer/SDKs/MacOSX10.6.sdk/usr/include/ucontext.h:42:2: error: #error ucontext routines are deprecated, and require _XOPEN_SOURCE to be defined
Storing dependency cache.
Elapsed Time: 5 sec

make: *** [all] Error 1



[edit]
Added the -D_XOPEN_SOURCE compiler directive. Seems to work.
[/edit]
Manne
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:04 am

Postby drwr » Mon Aug 31, 2009 1:44 pm

Sheesh. Stupid Apple, deprecating a very useful interface without providing an equivalent replacement. Well, whatever. We'll have to define this symbol in the Panda code, and one day (when Apple presumably removes the interface altogether) we won't be able to build with SIMPLE_THREADS on Mac anymore.

David
drwr
 
Posts: 11425
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 12:42 pm
Location: Glendale, CA

Postby Manne » Mon Aug 31, 2009 1:58 pm

One more error. (Oh, i will make the build available for download if you want . If i come that far that is :) ) (dont mind the warning)

Code: Select all
flex -i -Peggyy -obuilt/tmp/lexer.lxx.cxx panda/src/egg/lexer.lxx
g++ -ftemplate-depth-30 -fPIC -c -o built/tmp/egg_lexer.o -I"/Developer/SDKs/MacOSX10.6.sdk/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Headers" -I"built/tmp" -I"built/include" -Ipanda/src/egg -isysroot /Developer/SDKs/MacOSX10.6.sdk -arch x86_64 -D_XOPEN_SOURCE -O2 -DBUILDING_PANDAEGG built/tmp/lexer.lxx.cxx
In file included from /Developer/SDKs/MacOSX10.6.sdk/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Headers/Python.h:8,
                 from built/include/threadSimpleImpl.h:31,
                 from built/include/mutexSimpleImpl.h:24,
                 from built/include/mutexTrueImpl.h:38,
                 from built/include/mutexDebug.h:19,
                 from built/include/lightMutex.h:19,
                 from panda/src/egg/lexer.lxx:16:
/Developer/SDKs/MacOSX10.6.sdk/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Headers/pyconfig.h:1058:1: warning: "_XOPEN_SOURCE" redefined
<command-line>: warning: this is the location of the previous definition
built/tmp/lexer.lxx.cxx: In function ‘int yy_get_next_buffer()’:
built/tmp/lexer.lxx.cxx:2563: error: invalid initialization of reference of type ‘int&’ from expression of type ‘yy_size_t’
panda/src/egg/lexer.lxx:164: error: in passing argument 2 of ‘void input_chars(char*, int&, int)’
Storing dependency cache.
Elapsed Time: 2 sec

make: *** [all] Error 1

Manne
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:04 am

Postby drwr » Mon Aug 31, 2009 2:44 pm

Hmm, looks like a flex version issue. Edit line 165 of panda/src/egg/lexer.lxx, change it from this:
Code: Select all
input_chars(char *buffer, int &result, int max_size) {

To this:
Code: Select all
input_chars(char *buffer, yy_size_t &result, int max_size) {

David
drwr
 
Posts: 11425
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 12:42 pm
Location: Glendale, CA

Postby Manne » Mon Aug 31, 2009 3:25 pm

I didnt get that to work. I will look into it more tomorrow, and im *almost* done with a xcode 3.2 template. Will make that available tomorrow to.
Manne
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:04 am

Postby drwr » Mon Aug 31, 2009 3:35 pm

I just committed a change to the lexer.lxx file on cvs that should also solve this problem. You could pick up the latest version of this one file from cvs (it shouldn't have any conflicts with the 1.6.2 build, if that's what you're working with).

David
drwr
 
Posts: 11425
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 12:42 pm
Location: Glendale, CA

Postby Manne » Tue Sep 01, 2009 1:18 pm

Heres a XCode 3.2 template for all you lazy guys :=)
http://www.glawe.se/Panda3D/Panda3D_1.6 ... mplate.zip

Copy the Panda3D 1.6.2 folder to:
/Developer/Library/Xcode/Project Templates/Other/

The template is missing the DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH so you will have to add that manually after or you will not be able to debug.

Go to the Target in the project tree. Doubleclick on the executable name.
Select arguments tab. Press the + on the variables and add:
Name: DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH Value: /Applications/Panda3D/1.6.2/lib

That should be it. If you have any problems... well.. i just hope you dont :P
Manne
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:04 am

Postby sharkee » Thu Sep 03, 2009 5:52 pm

Panda runs after symlinking but I still get this error messages:

Code: Select all
DirectStart: Starting the game.
Known pipe types:
  osxGraphicsPipe
(all display modules loaded.)
Thu Sep  3 18:58:44 XXX python2.5[332] <Error>: kCGErrorIllegalArgument: CGSCopyRegion : Null pointer
Thu Sep  3 18:58:44 XXX python2.5[332] <Error>: kCGErrorFailure: Set a breakpoint @ CGErrorBreakpoint() to catch errors as they are logged.
Thu Sep  3 18:59:54 XXX python2.5[332] <Error>: kCGErrorIllegalArgument: _CGSFindSharedWindow: WID 156
Thu Sep  3 18:59:54 XXX python2.5[332] <Error>: kCGErrorIllegalArgument: CGSRemoveSurface: Invalid window 0x9c


Should I just ignore these?
"You can check out anytime you like
But you can never leave."
Hotel California, Eagles
sharkee
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 6:56 pm
Location: Pittsburgh

Postby mpkuti » Wed Sep 09, 2009 1:57 am

Manne wrote:Go to the Target in the project tree. Doubleclick on the executable name.
Select arguments tab. Press the + on the variables and add:
Name: DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH Value: /Applications/Panda3D/1.6.2/lib

That should be it. If you have any problems... well.. i just hope you dont :P


A stupid question: How to go to the Target in the project tree? In MacOs Finder doubleclicking opens in Python Launcher (actually, doesn't).
mpkuti
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 1:52 am

Postby ripla » Sun Sep 13, 2009 11:02 am

Hi. I'm not actually running Snow Leopard, but I have an updated X11 from MacOS Forge (http://xquartz.macosforge.org). The error message I'm getting is:

Code: Select all
python Tut-Asteroids.py
DirectStart: Starting the game.
:display(warning): Unable to load: dlopen(/Applications/Panda3D/1.6.2/lib/libpandagl.dylib, 6): Symbol not found: __glapi_Context
  Referenced from: /usr/X11/lib/libOSMesa.4.dylib
  Expected in: /usr/X11/lib/libGL.1.dylib

Known pipe types:
(all display modules loaded.)
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "Tut-Asteroids.py", line 13, in <module>
    import direct.directbase.DirectStart
  File "Panda3D-tpl-rw/Panda3D/1.6.2/lib/direct/directbase/DirectStart.py", line 4, in <module>
  File "Panda3D-tpl-rw/Panda3D/1.6.2/lib/direct/showbase/ShowBase.py", line 229, in __init__
  File "Panda3D-tpl-rw/Panda3D/1.6.2/lib/direct/showbase/ShowBase.py", line 692, in openDefaultWindow
  File "Panda3D-tpl-rw/Panda3D/1.6.2/lib/direct/showbase/ShowBase.py", line 777, in openMainWindow
  File "Panda3D-tpl-rw/Panda3D/1.6.2/lib/direct/showbase/ShowBase.py", line 534, in openWindow
  File "Panda3D-tpl-rw/Panda3D/1.6.2/lib/direct/showbase/ShowBase.py", line 467, in makeDefaultPipe
  File "Panda3D-tpl-rw/Panda3D/1.6.2/lib/direct/directnotify/Notifier.py", line 130, in error
StandardError: No graphics pipe is available!
Your Config.prc file must name at least one valid panda display
library via load-display or aux-display.


Should I try compiling from the sources too? As to the symlinking, should I remove /usr/X11/lib/libOSMesa.4.dylib since it already exists on my system?
ripla
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 10:50 am

Postby rdb » Sun Sep 13, 2009 11:04 am

Hm... does running software update fix it?
rdb
 
Posts: 9607
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 5:58 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby ripla » Sun Sep 13, 2009 11:33 am

pro-rsoft wrote:Hm... does running software update fix it?

No, I have the latest updates for Leopard + the updated X11 from MacOS Forge. I managed to get it work, though. I removed my existing libOSMesa.4.dylib and linked the libOSMesa.7.dylib as directed in the posts above.
Code: Select all
sudo mv /usr/X11/lib/libOSMesa.4.dylib /usr/X11/lib/libOSMesa.4.dylib.backup
sudo ln -s /usr/X11/lib/libOSMesa.7.dylib /usr/X11/lib/libOSMesa.4.dylib

Wonder if this will affect other programs I run with X11...
ripla
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 10:50 am

Postby rdb » Sun Sep 13, 2009 11:54 am

Ah, great. For the record, this issue is fixed in latest CVS version already and will be picked up for upcoming 1.7.0.
rdb
 
Posts: 9607
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 5:58 am
Location: Netherlands

Next

Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests