Cuboid Clone

Return to Showcase

Postby ThomasEgi » Mon Feb 08, 2010 4:55 am

well you know the game is open source already. although i was lazy and didnt put copyright notices in all files it's BSD.
credits for the dark block design goes to nemesis13
User avatar
ThomasEgi
 
Posts: 2163
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 10:43 am
Location: Germany,Koblenz

Postby bear_form » Mon Feb 08, 2010 6:59 am

Vote for sending this game into the sample project and or the gallery.

The first loveable games that i've discovered from panda so far :)

This one will let the newbie dream of what they might do with panda :D

Great!
make it Simple, Efficient, Flexible yet Powerful ... and that will be Perfect
bear_form
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 12:54 am

Postby astelix » Mon Feb 08, 2010 7:13 am

agree to push it into the samples bunch - I find a bit questionable to warmly promote it off the forums though: remember it is very inspired by a commercial game (read CLONE in the title) so better keep the word by ourselves. :wink:
My Rig:
P3D 1.7.0@WinXP & Kubuntu 10.04- Athlon 64 5200 X2 ~ Radeon 3200HD (integrated)
User avatar
astelix
 
Posts: 866
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 4:36 pm
Location: Milano, ITA

Postby radu » Mon Feb 08, 2010 11:33 am

Latest version tries to connect to localhost and cannot be started. previous version works fine though.
I guess it's because of the highscore feature, do I need to start some other component before starting the game?
Adopt a Panda (thread)
and get your funky Panda avatar here
User avatar
radu
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 11:09 am
Location: Bucharest

Postby ThomasEgi » Mon Feb 08, 2010 5:42 pm

i dont remember putting anything network related into it... highscore is missing altogether as far as i remember.
starting the cuboid.py should be enough.

and about the clone title..well. it pretty much is and since i only did for fun and joy i see no reason why not to name it the way things are :)
User avatar
ThomasEgi
 
Posts: 2163
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 10:43 am
Location: Germany,Koblenz

Postby radu » Mon Feb 08, 2010 6:13 pm

DirectStart: Starting the game.
Known pipe types:
wdxGraphicsPipe8
(2 aux display modules not yet loaded.)
attempting D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8
:net(error): Unable to open TCP connection to server 127.0.0.1 on port 5185
:pstats(error): Couldn't connect to PStatServer at localhost:5185
initializing levelnode


and the game interface appears but the links are dead...
Adopt a Panda (thread)
and get your funky Panda avatar here
User avatar
radu
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 11:09 am
Location: Bucharest

Postby ThomasEgi » Mon Feb 08, 2010 7:44 pm

oh that's just pstats. i had it turned on for debugging purpose.
you can comment out the "want pstats" line in the cuboid.py file. (the game should run none the less).

the whole game-controll is keyboard-oriented (developed it for a netbook so messing with a touchpad was unwanted). use the arrow up/down and enter to select the menu items.
User avatar
ThomasEgi
 
Posts: 2163
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 10:43 am
Location: Germany,Koblenz

Postby radu » Mon Feb 08, 2010 7:55 pm

I was trying to use the mouse to start the game, as it used to work for the menu in the previous version.
But you are right, all ok now.
Adopt a Panda (thread)
and get your funky Panda avatar here
User avatar
radu
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 11:09 am
Location: Bucharest

Postby drwr » Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:07 am

I hope to see a p3d file soon. :)

David
drwr
 
Posts: 11425
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 12:42 pm
Location: Glendale, CA

Postby radu » Tue Feb 09, 2010 3:51 am

I'd do it, but I can't seem to find the "short" tutorial for building the p3d's or I am missing some files from my installation :)
Adopt a Panda (thread)
and get your funky Panda avatar here
User avatar
radu
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 11:09 am
Location: Bucharest

Postby astelix » Tue Feb 09, 2010 3:56 am

radu wrote:I'd do it, but I can't seem to find the "short" tutorial for building the p3d's or I am missing some files from my installation :)

that is a good point I'm interested with as well - if you David could point us with sorta of checklist to follow for make p3d's, that would be really awesome.
My Rig:
P3D 1.7.0@WinXP & Kubuntu 10.04- Athlon 64 5200 X2 ~ Radeon 3200HD (integrated)
User avatar
astelix
 
Posts: 866
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 4:36 pm
Location: Milano, ITA

Postby rdb » Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:49 am

Oh, come on. It's in the manual, and as easy as pie:
http://www.panda3d.org/wiki/index.php/Using_packp3d
rdb
 
Posts: 11166
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 5:58 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby astelix » Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:54 am

ah I should have know it - thanks rdb
Last edited by astelix on Tue Feb 09, 2010 5:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
My Rig:
P3D 1.7.0@WinXP & Kubuntu 10.04- Athlon 64 5200 X2 ~ Radeon 3200HD (integrated)
User avatar
astelix
 
Posts: 866
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 4:36 pm
Location: Milano, ITA

Postby radu » Tue Feb 09, 2010 1:25 pm

Sorry for hijacking the thread and staying of topic, but bear with me for a second.
I did found that reference before posting and attempted using it, but failed.
When running exactly what you suggested (customized for my folder structure of course) i get a:
No such file: /d/system/Panda3D-1.7.0/bin/packp3d.p3d

Bad build maybe you recon?
Adopt a Panda (thread)
and get your funky Panda avatar here
User avatar
radu
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 11:09 am
Location: Bucharest

Postby rdb » Tue Feb 09, 2010 2:16 pm

Yes, it's a build mistake. You can download packp3d.p3d from http://runtime.panda3d.org/packp3d.p3d , and place it in the bin directory.
Last edited by rdb on Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
rdb
 
Posts: 11166
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 5:58 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby radu » Tue Feb 09, 2010 3:43 pm

I thought I saw something along those lines on a separate thread but couldn't find it, so thanks.

Anyway, for those in the same situation, you will need the above link without that comma near it to mess it up, so here, use this to right click and "save target as": http://runtime.panda3d.org/packp3d.p3d

Bad comma! :shock:
Adopt a Panda (thread)
and get your funky Panda avatar here
User avatar
radu
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 11:09 am
Location: Bucharest

Postby qubodup » Tue Feb 09, 2010 10:22 pm

May I ask you to explain how to convert levels again?

write a text file like
Code: Select all
1113
1111
1111
2111

put it in a file called level_0 and run
Code: Select all
python levelconvert.py 0

?
If I do that, I get
Code: Select all
$ python levelconvert.py 0
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "levelconvert.py", line 29, in <module>
    data = data[1].split("=")[1].split("_")
IndexError: list index out of range
User avatar
qubodup
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 1:28 am

Postby ThomasEgi » Wed Feb 10, 2010 8:29 am

ahm. i actually rewrote it trice and each time i made it convert from the previous conversion result to the new one.
if you want a direct conversion try this:

Code: Select all
from sys import argv,exit
if len(argv) >1:
    level = int(argv[1])
else:
    print "no level nr supplied"
    exit()

data=open("./level_"+str(level)).read().split("\n")
output = open("./level_"+str(level),"w" )
for x in range(0,len(data)):
    for y in range(0,len(data[x])):
        if data[x][y]=="1":   
            output.write("<Type=tile,Pos=")
        elif data[x][y]=="2":   
            output.write("<Type=start,Pos=")
        elif data[x][y]=="3":   
            output.write("<Type=goal,Pos=")
        elif data[x][y]=="4":   
            output.write("<Type=weaktile,Pos=")
        else:
            continue
        output.write(str(x)+"_"+str(y)+">")
    output.write("\n")
print "converted levelNr:",level
output.close()
User avatar
ThomasEgi
 
Posts: 2163
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 10:43 am
Location: Germany,Koblenz

Postby Anon » Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:01 am

This won't run with Panda3d 1.7.0, unless you comment the lines from cuboid.py which sets some PRC settings...
Anon
 
Posts: 1564
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 3:07 am

Postby ambyra » Tue Jul 13, 2010 8:42 pm

Hi, the game download link is broken. Could you please reupload? Thanks!
ambyra
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 5:47 pm

Postby ThomasEgi » Wed Jul 14, 2010 1:26 am

ah.. right. i moved the stuff away from my private FTP to the panda3d project space some time ago.
http://p3dp.com/doku.php?id=thomaseg1:start
User avatar
ThomasEgi
 
Posts: 2163
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 10:43 am
Location: Germany,Koblenz

Re: Cuboid Clone

Postby redpanda » Sun Dec 15, 2013 6:32 am

Does anyone have the source?
redpanda
 
Posts: 431
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 6:34 am

Previous

Return to Showcase

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest