Errors converting Maya 8.5 to egg

Return to Pipeline

Errors converting Maya 8.5 to egg

Postby Ihateeggs » Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:46 am

This semester, I am in a game development class working as one of two artists creating egg files for a game being programmed in Panda3D.

Currently, the only version of Maya that I have is Maya 8.5, but I cannot get the converter to function correctly. What I get are some weird error messages about missing modules:

C:\Panda3D-1.4.2\bin>maya2egg85.egg -o Arm_Prototype.egg Arm Prototype.mb

Initializing Maya.
'import site' failed; use -v for traceback
ImportError: No module named maya.app.python
ImportError: No module named maya.app.python
ImportError: No module named maya
ImportError: No module named maya.cmds
ImportError: No module named maya.utils
ImportError: No module named maya.mel
ImportError: No module named maya.app
ImportError: No module named maya.app.startup.batch
Maya binary file parse error: : (6) corrupted file structure
Arm_Prototype.mb: (kFailure): Unexpected Internal Failure
:maya:mayaegg(error) Unable to read Arm_Prototype.mb
Errors in conversion.

The Arm_Prototype file is a default Maya 8.5 model, nothing special, no textures beyond the default lambert gray. It's just a simple model constructed from four primitives for the purposes of testing conversion, and it is not corrupted.

Does anybody else have this problem, or know how to solve the missing module errors?
Ihateeggs
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:36 am

Postby Josh Yelon » Sat Jan 26, 2008 7:39 pm

Those missing module errors are not important. I get those errors every time I do 'maya2egg', it's been that way ever since Maya added python support. Apparently, maya's internal python distribution contains some extra modules. But when you run maya2egg, it tries to load panda's version of python instead of maya's version of python, and you get missing module errors. I'll fix it someday, but it doesn't affect the exporter anyway since the exporter doesn't use python.

As for this error:

Maya binary file parse error: : (6) corrupted file structure

I've not seen that before. My hunch is that there's some sort of version conflict here - maybe you've got two copies of maya installed? Maybe one is corrupted?
Josh Yelon, Teacher, Carnegie Mellon Entertainment Technology Center
Josh Yelon
 
Posts: 1360
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 8:30 pm

Postby drwr » Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:53 pm

Maya binary file parse error: : (6) corrupted file structure

I've seen this sort of error message when I try to load a Maya file that's the wrong version. Apparently Maya doesn't always check the version number; it just thinks that the file is corrupt.

David
drwr
 
Posts: 11425
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 12:42 pm
Location: Glendale, CA


Return to Pipeline

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests